Week 38 of 40 weeks of 40 pillowcase shorts.

I invented something today.
When you start off sewing one of the first tutorials on the internet you find is for a pillowcase dress. These are girls dresses made from a pillowcase they look great but unfortunately I am too big to fit in them and I have beautiful boys not girls. So today I made myself a pair of long shorts using 2 pillowcases. I was so happy with them ( they are pink)  it is an easy way to start making clothes and because I am short they are long on me but will still fit tallers.
I’ve made a second pair and have done a tutorial for it.
Here we go.
Take 2 pillowcases.

image

Use a pair of trousers that fit you to make a pattern shape add on seam allowance I use the paper  our fruit box from beanies comes in as it’s really thick paper.

image

Place the pillowcases on top of each other. The opening of the pillowcase is the leg end the closed end is the waist end. If there is a pattern make sure you’ve got them facing the way you want and draw out your trouser shape using a biro.

image

Cut out.

image

Then make 2 neat cuts at the top to open up the pillowcase for your waist.

image

Sew up your legs makong sure you’ve sewn in the pillowcase loose hem.

image

Sew together.

image

Sew a waist channel leaving a 2-3 cm gap to thread your elastic through.

image

Turn out and it’s finished.

image

Me proving they fit.

image

Leave a comment